Gail Morgan, Film Commissioner for the Destin-Fort Walton Beach Film Commission, has been re-elected President of Film Florida. It was announced at the Film Florida Annual Meeting, along with the entire Film Florida Board of Directors for 2021-2022. The 2021-2022 Film Florida Board of Directors and alternate board members reside in fourteen different counties in Florida stretching from Escambia County (Pensacola) to Monroe County (Key West).

“It is an honor to continue to serve as President of Film Florida. The past year has been trying for everyone but I am proud of how our entire organization has stepped up to help each other and the entire state of Florida,” commented Morgan. “Our membership has continued to grow during the pandemic and that is a testament to our organization’s professionalism, commitment, and the initiatives our members have put forth. I look forward to working side by side with industry professionals as we seek opportunities to strengthen the film, television and digital media production industry. Our state has fared better than some but we still have unique challenges ahead. Our industry can be an important piece in Florida’s economic recovery and we look forward to doing so as we compete for high wage jobs in the film, television and digital media production industry.”

Gail has been with the Destin-Fort Walton Beach Film Commission (formerly the Emerald Coast Film Commission) for ten+ years. Prior to becoming the Film Commissioner, she was a Producer and Production Manager for more than twenty years. Gail has exceptional experience working on a variety of productions in the entertainment industry including feature films, television series, commercials, documentary films, large arena events, parades, festivals, musicals and musical tours, theatrical events, corporate entertainment events, conferences and celebrity galas. Gail’s strengths include client relations, team building and overall project budget management. Gail has been a member of Film Florida for nine years and on the Executive Board for the last three years as the 1st Vice President. Gail is also a Certified Film Commissioner through the Association of Film Commissioners International (AFCI).

2020 – 2021 Executive Board Officers:
President – Gail Morgan, Destin-Fort Walton Beach Film Commission (Film Commission Council)
1st Vice President – Sandy Lighterman, Miami-Dade Office of Film and Entertainment (Film Commission Council)
2nd Vice President – Matt Wohl, Traveling Dog Films (Industry & Association Council Council)
Secretary – Leah Sokolowsky, Teamsters Local 769 (Labor Council)
Treasurer – Anne Russell, Full Sail University (Education Council)
Immediate Past President – Bonnie King, 321BonnieKing (Industry & Association Council)

Additional Board Members:
Film Commission Council: Chair- Tyler Martinolich, Film Tampa Bay; Vice Chair- Chad Newman, Florida Keys & Key West Film Commission; Secretary- Marty Lewis, St. Augustine Film Office; Alternates- Tony Armer, St. Pete Clearwater Film Commission; Gaby LaJeunesse, Florida’s Sports Coast Film Commission; and Lindsey Sandrin, Orlando Film Commission.

Industry & Association Council: Chair- Alexa Sheehan, HarborDashery Productions, LLC; Vice Chair- Jennelle Jordan, Women in Film & Television Florida; Secretary- Chris Odom, FireFly Media Group; Alternates- Jen Vargas, Film Slam; M. Denise Simmons, MD Simmons Productions; Herb Miller, Univision Networks and Studios.

Education Council: Chair- Lisa Mills, UCF Nicholson School of Communication, College of Sciences; Vice Chair- Jonathan Stone, Florida State University College of Motion Picture Arts; Secretary- Stephen McDowell, Florida State University College of Communication & Information.

Michael Viera, SAG-AFTRA and Leah Sokolowsky, Teamsters Local 769 will represent the Labor Council.

About Film Florida: Film Florida is a state-wide not-for-profit entertainment production trade association that serves a leadership role in Florida’s film, TV, production and digital media/tech industry by representing all aspects of the business including film commissions, industry, labor, associations and education. The growing membership driven organization provides a network, a platform, and the benefits of playing an active part in solidifying Florida’s position as a major entertainment production destination, positive economic development driver and tourism generator. For more information about Film Florida visit

# # #
Gail Morgan, President,, 850-240-6376
John Lux, Executive Director,, 407-494-6195